Wednesday, October 4, 2023

Real Time Updates For Teachers

TSC Honors 264 Teachers on World Teachers Day

Must Read
TSC Honors 264 Teachers on World Teachers Day

TSC Honors 264 Teachers on World Teachers Day

The Teachers Service Commission (TSC) has produced a list of educators who performed exceptionally well on national exams last year.

On the day Kenya observed World Teachers Day, a total of 264 teachers were honored, with 51 receiving national recognition.

Mulwa Muendo of Inyokoni Primary School, Mugambi Josleen Karimi of PCEA Kathingiri School, Sawe Kipkosgei Sammy of Bishop Muge Memorial Primary School, and Emily Tanui of St Luke Prep Bibiriet school received awards for leading top schools in the KCPE exams last year.

Maiyo Sammy of Kapsabet Boys, Flora Mulatya of Kenya High, Kuria John Munyua of Mangu School, Mwangi William of Alliance High School, and Inviolata Makhanu of St Brigitte’s Girls were also recognized for their leadership in leading top KCSE schools.

Esther Njeri Mureke of Kamwenja TTC in Nyeri was the sole tutor to get the presidential award Global Volunteer.

Six additional teachers were honored for leading the most improved schools on the KCPE from the previous year.

Ali Yarow of Hudhile Primary school in Wajir, Joseph Opiyo of Achego Primary in Kisumu, Adan Gaiya of Mandera DEB, Samuel Lokise of Nadwat Primary in Turkana, Jillo Abdullahi of Algani Girls School in Isiolo, and Cheruiyot Joseph of Kitait Primary School in Kericho are the winners.

Teachers whose schools improved the most on the KCSE last year were also recognized.

Teachers of most improved public schools in 2021 KCSE

– Cecilia Siamanta – Lemek Namunyak Girls’ High School, Narok County

– Bruce Kinara – Nyakeore Secondary School, Nyamira County

– Alfred Nyangau – Mesabakwa Secondary School, Kisii County

– Jared Onyango – Nyalenda Secondary School, Homa Bay County

– Aftin Kulow Dube – Elwak Secondary School, Mandera County

The most exceptional elementary and secondary school principals were also recognized and awarded.

Nzioka Matheka of Donholm Primary School, Maiyo Sammy of Kapsabet boys, Kimiti Wacheke of Othaya Girls, Kuria Willie of Muranga High, Alio Bashir of Gode Primary, and Cathrine Wanja of Thika High School come into this group.

The prizes recognize schools that performed exceptionally well on national exams last year.

Kenyans have not been given a list of the top 2021 KCPE and KCSE schools because the Kenya National Examination Council did not conduct the ranking.

Overall, a big proportion of teachers from well-known institutions including Kenya High School, Kapsabet School, Mang’u high, Friends School Kamusinga, Machakos School, and Mama Ngina Girls in Mombasa were honored.

Awards were also given to teachers from Masimbani Primary, Inyokoni Primary, and Githunguri Primary, Mudasa Academy, Vihiga, Kitengela International, and Acacia Academy.

The chief executive officer of the TSC, Nancy Macharia, also acknowledged teachers from special schools, including Thika School for the Blind, Joyland School, Wajir Special School, and St. Kizito.

During a global celebrations day with the subject “The change of Education Begins with Teachers,” the teacher’s employer acknowledged the dedication of its staff.

Dr. Macharia praised educators for overcoming obstacles brought on by the twin disruptions of Covid-19 and the General Election.

Kahi Indimuli, the national chairman of the Kenya Secondary School Heads Association, has urged President William Ruto to uphold the commitment he made in the Kenya Kwanza Education Charter.

There is a shortfall of 116,000 school teachers. In the first year, he vowed to employ half of the deficit. We look forward to witnessing this,“ he said.

Teachers from Kenya who received multiple medals and certificates in 2021 were also recognized.

Sammy Kipchumba is from Kapsabet Boys’ High School in Nandi County; Jane Wacheke is from Othaya Girls’ High School in Nyeri County; Kuria Mwangi is from Murang’a High School in Murang’a County; Alio Ibrahim Bashir is from Gode Primary School in Mandera County; and Catherine Karanga is from Thika High School for the Visually Impaired in Kiambu County.

Also awarded are the recipients of the following HSC certificates for 2016, 2017, and 2018:


– Solomon Koech of Kangaru School, Embu County

– Lucy Wangari of Karatina Girls’ High School, Nyeri County

– Abdi Mohamud of Jamhuri High School, Nairobi County


– James Mburu of Aberdare Teachers’ Training College, Nyandarua County

– Ndolo Shem of Agai Primary School, Kisumu County

– Indimulli Kahi of Machakos Boys’ High School, Machakos County

– Phylis Wangeci of Mahiga Girls’ Secondary School, Nyeri County

– Meresa Okebe of Abaqdera Primary School, Garissa County

– Paul Kamau of Loreto Girls’ High School, Kiambu County

– Sister Amollo Anastacia of St. Mary’s Lwak Girls’ High School, Siaya County


– Flora Mulatya, Winnie Wangui and Lawrence Kariuki – all of Kenya High School, Nairobi County

– Elijah Ngatu of Mkwambani Primary School in Kwale County

– Maxwell Vincent of Karuri Secondary School in Kiambu County,

– Anthony Okoth of Wandiege Primary School in Kisumu County

– Robert Ouko of Thim Bonde Primary School in Kisumu County

– Margaret Nyawire, Teresia Wambui and Janefaith Nyasya – all of Kenya High School, Nairobi County

– Njuguna Thuku of Waithaka Special Needs School, Nairobi County

– Irene Mwenda of Oloolua Primary School in Kajiado County

– Elijah Ogoti of St. Theresa Tartar Girls’ High School in West Pokot County

Teachers who won continental prizes also received TSC recognition.

They attend Asumbi Girls’ High School in Homa Bay County as Eric Otieno Ademba. Ademba was selected as the 2019 African Union Continental Teacher of the Year.

Peter Tabichi, the 2019 Global Teacher Prize recipient and a teacher at Keriko Mixed Day Secondary School in Pwani, Nakuru County, was also honored.

TSC Honors 264 Teachers on World Teachers Day

Read the full article

- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

Latest News

HELB Begins Disbursement of Tuition Loans to Universities and TVET Institutions

HELB Begins Disbursement of Tuition Loans to Universities and TVET Institutions The Higher Education Loans Board began disbursing tuition loans...


error: Content is protected !!